The 16th Jeonju Int. Film Festival

The 16th Jeonju Int. Film Festival

The 16th edition of the Jeonju International Film Festival (JIFF) has unveiled the finalists for the ‘Korean Competition for Shorts.’

The 20 films have been selected from a staggering 609 entries, with a focus on originality, experimentalism, and controversial themes. The finalists will compete against each other for a selection of prizes, including the Grand Prize, Best Director Award, and Special Jury Award, respectively.

JIFF’s ‘competition for shorts’ program serves as a launching pad for new talent, with films often finding success on the international stage. Director Na Young-kil’s Hosanna, which premiered at JIFF last year, went on to receive the Golden Bear for Short Film at the 2015 Berlin International Film Festival. Premiering at JIFF 2013, director Han Eun-young’s Breathe Me later appeared at the Cannes Film Festival – Critics Week in the same year.

For the full line-up of short films within the competition, as well as select stills that have been released, please see below.

1) The Emotional Society on Stage (Directors Kim Sookhyun, Jo Hyejeong) [2014 / 23min]

2) A Lonely Bird (Director Seojeong Shinwoo) [2015 / 18min]

3) Mind Control (Director Lee Nakyung) [2015 / 16min]

4) The Messenger (Director Son Kyungsoo) [2014 / 13min]

Heels over Head

Heels over Head

5) Heels over Head (Director Shim Hyejeong) [2015 / 26min]

6) Uninvited Guest (Director Kang Minseok) [2014 / 31min]

7) Super-critical Flow (Directors Shin Booyeon, Yoon Sangjeong) [2015 / 28min]

Ah Ah Ah

Ah Ah Ah

8) STAY! (Director Shin Jemin) [2015 / 15min]

9) Mirror in Mind (Director Kim Seunghee) [2014 / 2min]

10) Ah Ah Ah (Director Noh Youngmi) [2015 / 15min]

11) The Haze of Summer (Director Park Jiyoon) [2015 / 25min]

Summer's Tale

Summer’s Tale

12) Summer‘s Tale (Directors Kwak Saemi, Park Yongjae) [2015 / 39min]

13) Open Society and Its Enemies (Director Kwon Hyukjoon) [2014 / 33min]

14) Beneath the Wheel (Director Kwak Eun-mi) [2015 / 21min]

Beneath the Wheel

Beneath the Wheel

15) This Planet What We Chose (Director Kim Jeongeun) [2014 / 27min]

16) The Fruits of the Earth (Director Kim Hwara) [2015 / 15min]

17) Emergency Leave (Director Kang Jinyeop) [2014 / 15min]

18) The Exploration (Director Park Yongseok) [2014 / 11min]

19) Blossom (Director Han In-mi) [2015 / 27min]

20) A Crevice of Violence (Director Lim Chul) [2015 / 27min]

The 16th Jeonju International Film Festival runs from April 30th to May 9th.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s